Cricket Sports T20 World Cup 2022

T20 World Cup: See T20 World Cup winners from India in 2007 to Australia in 2021

t20 world cup winners 2007 to 2021
t20 world cup winners 2007 to 2021

T20 World Cup: T20 World Cup Winners 2007 to 2021 – The ICC T20 World Cup is one of the biggest and most exciting sporting spectacles. Let’s see how the former champions lifted the trophy ahead of the next tournament in Australia from October 16 to November 13 this year.

T20 world cup winners list

Year Winners team Margin Won By Runners Up Player of the Series Top Run Scorer Highest Wicket Taker Host country
2022      Australia
2021 Australia 8 wickets New Zealand David Warner Babar Azam Wanindu Hasaranga Oman & UAE
2016 West Indies 4 wickets England Virat Kohli Tamim Iqbal Mohammad Nabi India
2014 Sri Lanka 6 wickets India Virat Kohli Virat Kohli Ahsan Malik and Imran Tahir Bangladesh
2012 West Indies 36 runs Sri Lanka Shane Watson Shane Watson Ajantha Mendis Sri Lanka
2010 England 7 wickets Australia Kevin Pietersen Mahela Jayawardene Dirk Nannes West Indies
2009 Pakistan 8 wickets Sri Lanka Tillakaratne Dilshan Tillakaratne Dilshan Umar Gul England
2007 India 5 runs Pakistan Shahid Afridi Matthew Hayden Umar Gul South Africa

The list of T20 World Cup winners is here we will share the list of T20 World Cup winners from 2007 to 2022 in detail.

2007 T20 World Cup winner – India

 The Indian cricket team won their first T20 World Cup under the captain of MS Dhoni. India won their first title in the 2007 T20 World Cup final beating Pakistan. India lost only one match against New Zealand in the Super 8. In this tournament Shahid Afridi of Pakistan is the player of the series.

2009 T20 World Cup winner – Pakistan

won their first 120 World Cup in 2009 two years after finishing as runners-up in their first T20 World Cup. England hosted the match and Pakistan defeated Sri Lanka by eight wickets in the final to become champions. In the first match against England Pakistan was defeated by Sri Lanka in the Super Eight. However, they managed to win the trophy. Tillakaratne Dilshan of Sri Lanka was the top player of the series and top scorer of the tournament.

2010 T20 World Cup Winner – England

 won the T20 World Cup 2010. England became the first non-Asian to win the 2010 T20 World Cup. England defeated Australia by 7 wickets in the Ashes final. The England team lost their first match against the West Indies but won all the subsequent matches to capture the trophy. Winner Kevin Pietersen was named Man of the Series in the 2010 T20 World Cup.

2012 T20 World Cup Winner – West Indies

won their first T20 World Cup in 2012 by defeating hosts Sri Lanka by 36 runs in a top flight encounter. West Indies won the trophy in the 2012 ICC T20 World Cup and also lost their first match against Australia. Australia’s Shane Watson became the highest wicket taker and highest run scorer in this World Cup while Sri Lankas Ajanta Mendes became the highest wicket taker in this World Cup.

2014 T20 World Cup winner – Sri Lanka

 Sri Lanka became the new T20 World Cup champions by defeating India in the 2014 T20 World Cup. Sri Lanka won the final by 6 wickets. India has reached the final for the second time in this World Cup. India’s Virat Kohli was the top scorer and player of the 2014 ICC T20 World Cup.

2016 T20 World Cup 2016 Winner – West Indies

 The West Indies Cricket Team won the T20 World Cup 2016 by defeating England. With this West Indies became the first team to win the T20 World Cup twice. West Indies have lost only one match against Afghanistan. Before that West Indies became champions for the first time in the 2012 T20 World Cup. In this world Virat Kohli was the player of the series and Tamim Iqbal was the top scorer.

2021 T20 World Cup Winner – Australia

The final match of T20 World Cup 2021 is between Australia and New Zealand. Team Australia was crowned the winner of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 after defeating New Zealand in the final match by eight wickets. This is the first time an Australian cricket team has won the T20 World Cup. Australian Mitchell Marsh has been selected as the best player in the final of the T20 World Cup 2021. In this World Cup 12 teams will participate in the main competition (Super 12) which are divided into two groups.