T20 World cup: Top 7 centuries of T20 World Cup History


Scoring a 100 in the T20 format is an amazing achievement. Especially on the international stage of the World Cup. T20I bags are rare. Only eight points have been scored so far in the tournament’s history. Several others are looking forward to the T20 World Cup 2021 in UAE and Oman from October 17. In this article note we look at 7 players who have scored 100 goals in the T20 World Cup.

Player name team against score year Strike rate Venue
Chris Gayle West Indies South Africa 117(57) 2007 205.26 Johannesburg    
Chris Gayle West Indies England 100(48) 2016 208.33 Mumbai
Suresh Raina India South Africa 101(60) 2010 168.3 Gros Islet
Mahela Jayawardene Sri Lanka Zimbabwe 100(64) 2010 156.25 Providence
Brendon McCullum  New Zealand Bangladesh 123(58) 2012 212.06 Pallekele
Alex hales   England Sri Lanka 116(64) 2014 181.25 Chattogram
Ahmed Shehzad     Pakistan Bangladesh 111(62) 2014 179.03 Dhaka
  Tamin Iqbal Bangladesh   Oman 103(63) 2010 163.49 Dharmshala

1) Chris Gayle – 2 Centuries 

Chris Gayle is the only player to score two centuries in the T20 Trophy. Incidentally this double century was the only double century scored by Jamaica in his T20I career. Gayle scored a century in the first match in T20 World Cup history. He scored another career high in 2007 in late 2016. The left-hander has only scored 920 runs in 28 T20 World Cup matches.

2) Suresh Raina – 1 Century

Suresh Raina is one of the few Indians to score a century in all three formats and the only player from the country to score a century in a T20 World Cup. Suresh was Indias third highest scorer in the 2010 edition with 101 runs and helped India set a target of 187 runs. In the end India won by 14 points.

3) Mahela Jayawardene – 1 Century

Mahela Jayawardene is the highest scorer in the history of T20 World Cup. He is the only batsman to score more than 1000 runs in a single match. The Sri Lankan legend has scored 1016 runs at an average of 3907 runs in 31 matches. Mahara scored a century against Zimbabwe in 2010. Sri Lanka won the match decisively.

4) Brendon McCullum – 1 Century

With over 2000 runs in T20I cricket Brendon McCullum is one of the most popular faces of the format. Apart from a good start to the IPL Baz also performed well in the T20 World Cup. One of the two T20 centuries he scored in an ICC event. In the match against Bangladesh he scored his only century in a T20 WC with a strike rate of over 200.

5) Alex Hales – 1 Century

Alex Hales is one of the players to have marked a century in the T20 World Cup. An opening British blockbuster helped them chase a tough 190 against Sri Lanka in 2014. He formed a successful partnership with Eoin Morgan to complete the chase. Hales hasnt played for his country since 2019.

6) Ahmed Shehzad – 1 Century

Ahmed Shahzad was a promising cricketer in Pakistan before controversies hampered his progress. In 2014 he scored a century against Bangladesh and became the first Pakistani batsman to do so. Sehzad opened with 111 points in the group match against the neighbouring subcontinent. Pavitra won the match easily.

7) Tamim Iqbal – 1 Century


One of Bangladesh’s most consistent cricketers in recent years Tamim Iqbals T20 century is unique in the World Cup. Tamim did well in 2016 against Oman a relatively easy opponent. With Bangladesh limiting Oman to 65/9 he scored 103 goals from 63 balls and won the match convincingly.

About the author


Add Comment

Click here to post a comment